At first, I enjoyed reading this book.  It started out very informative and I liked how there were no set rules for writing.  She made writing seems easy and more of a personal choice rather then describing a certain way you must write.  The first thing that really stood out to me was when Lamott stated "So go ahead and make big scrawls and mistakes.  Use up lots of paper.  Perfectionism is a mean, form of idealism."  This made me feel more confident in my own way of writing.  When I write I have LOTS of drafts and mistakes.  I often never feel fully satisfied with my completed writing pieces. 
However, the further I got into the book, my mind changed.  While I still feel it was a  book with many great points, it was long and repetitive.  I found myself becoming distracted easily.  Towards the middle and end of the book, it was hard for me to find connections to my own writing process.  I did learn from Bird by Bird though.  Like I said, I like the idea of no rules being set for writing. Lamott stated that it was important to "listen. It's that simple."  By listening to yourself and othe
Gill
6/4/2013 08:44:42 am

It tells me a lot about you, Caitlin, that you figured out that you didn't like the book but that you read on, continuing to look for reasons to read and for applications to your classroom. That tells me that you take learning seriously, and I can only assume you take teaching just as seriously, which no doubt benefits your students. They'll benefit, too, from what you are figuring out about writing, because I know you're looking closely for what you can pass on to them.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2013

    Categories

    All