During Jarred's demo today, we listened to the song He Walked on Water by Randy Travis.  I had heard this song many times before and it always reminded me of one person. 
When I was young and even still today, I never have been able to see any flaws in this person.  She cooked for me, cared for me, talked with me, showed me, discovered with me, and taught me more than anyone else.  I am very blessed to have such a person in my life.  The past few years I have began to notice age starting to show and the overall slowing down process beginning and even though this is heartbreaking to me, I know how lucky I am to have had so much time.  My childhood is full of memories and learned lessons from my grandmother.  In my eyes, she still "walks on water" just as she always has in my opinion.
Katrina
6/5/2013 04:01:07 am

Thanks. Music is such a vital tool in conjuring up emotions and images that spur writing. It is so important to our kids to have those connections to make their writing relevant.

Reply
Tiffany
6/5/2013 07:57:02 am

When we listened to that song, nothing about it said "Nanny" to me. However, your blog post made me think a lot about my grandmother. She was always a vital, healthy woman until cancer entered our lives two years ago. Since then, I have watched her fall into the depths of hell and rise again. There are no sentiments to tell just how much my Nanny means to me. She is my rock and has been all my life. Thank you for sharing your memories, because it opened up some of mine. I have dealt with my pains from my past, but it's pretty easy because I know it has made me who I am. I struggle with dealing with the pain of watching my Nanny suffer and avoid it at all costs because it hurts so much and it makes me cry. I'm glad I read this, because even though it brought tears to my eyes, it does help me to remember that there are beautiful memories I will have for all eternity.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2013

    Categories

    All