I have never been a big fan of social networking.  Even in high school, I never had a MySpace like everyone else and I only have a Facebook because someone else set it up for me during my freshman year of college.  So I never was even on Twitter until I was forced to set one up for the Writing Project. I have been making myself tweet at least a few times a week, if not everyday, throughout the day at the summer institute.  One of my goals during the Writing Project is to incorporate more technology in my classroom. While I hate to admit it, I am actually liking this twitter thing a little bit.  With the push of a fellow coworker/friend, I am setting a goal for myself next school year.  I plan to start a Twitter account with my Kindergarteners. 

My school has a very low percentage of parent involvement.  To be honest, unless free food is involved, we rarely have a good turn out at after school events, conference night, etc. I have come to the conclusion that even though they may not comment back, "retweet" or whatever the twitter lingo is, at least there is a possibility that parents will see what we are doing.  This may encourage conversations at home with their child about their school day.  I think that through using Twitter in the classroom it will create more of a relationship between home and school, parent and teacher, and parent and student. 
Jessica Willis
6/10/2013 01:13:23 pm

Thank you for sharing. Every time we have a demo I always catch myself thinking of how you could incorporate some of these in a kindergarten room. I think of my son Luke who will he 5 in a few short weeks :/ and wonder how you do it but I am thankful for teachers that do.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2013

    Categories

    All