As a Kindergarten teacher my biggest worry with plagiarism is if they write the same thing on their paper as their neighbor.  It usually requires a firm look and they begin to erase and do their own work.  That is an easy part about teaching a lower grade because they don't argue as much as older kids, even though they DO have their brave moments. I am wondering though how teachers of higher grades deal with this issue.  The article Using Evidence in Writing has made me think a bit differently.  Maybe plagiarism is not often done on purpose but more by accident.  I am sure that I have accidentally plagiarized as well.  This also makes me wonder what are ways we can start teaching them the rules of using someone else's work at a young age.   I think it all starts with teaching respect, honesty, and exposure to correct writing techniques.  



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2013

    Categories

    All