It is always easy to think of all the ways that you teach writing and think of all the different ways you can incorporate writing into other content areas but thinking and applying are two totally different things.  I have been to a lot of conferences and presentations where good ideas have been provided but for some reason most of them never make it back to my classroom.  For the first time, I know for a fact that I will be implementing the techniques and ideas presented during the Summer Institute in my classroom. 
The idea that was presented today by Vivian Bowles was to get students outside.  How much more simple can that be?  Line them up, walk outside, and let them write!  Now I am aware that more planning has to go into it than just that but what an easy way to get kids writing and experiencing nature at the same time. In half-day Kindergarten, we do not get a scheduled recess time.  We have to sacrifice something in order to get the kids outside.  By taking writing tools outside, I am not sacrificing anything! 
Another benefit to writing outside is the experiences kids can get during school.  Most of our children live in apartments and they have little to no grassy areas to run and play.  Students can learn so much more than just writing by being outside.  Now I am curious to what kinds of writing



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2013

    Categories

    All