Agenda: How/Where can I add more detail to connect with the reader's senses?

I have had a hard time figuring out what exactly to put in this piece.  I have changed it thousands of times! 
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where I’m From

I am from a small town where everyone is related to everyone,

You get in trouble and everyone knows it, and then has advice to give.

I am from a small town where long lasting friendships are formed,

You call everyone by their first name, no matter their age.


I am from sneaking out and staying out until the sun came up then running home as fast as possible to pretend like I was home all night.

I am from standing on the sideline with the football players screaming at the guys instead of facing the crowd and cheering with the rest of the squad.

I am from the smell of cows and pigs, not having to stop at stop signs unless the corn is up, and cops who participate in the high school parties while on duty.

I am from pep rallies, homecoming bonfires, football dinner, cheerleading competitions, snow days, drive your tractor to school days, and writing my own school excuses.

I am from class trips, bus rides, sleepovers, sitting in front of the principal, and riding four-wheelers.


I am from a small town where everyone knows your business but would fight til the end for you,

You always feel supported and loved even by non family members.

I am from a small town where I made many memories that shaped who I am today,

You will always call this place “home.”







Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2013

    Categories

    All