YOU

6/4/2013

2 Comments

 
I was so surprised today by the emotions that were brought out by writing.  Erin stated it perfectly when she said writing pulls at your emotions.  I guess I have never been a person who thought to deal with emotions through writing. I was also surprised by how something as simple as a writing prompt or even a short open-ended sentence can dig so deep inside you and pull out feelings and memories you thought were lost. Today made me think back to the first (and I believe only) time I truly felt an emotional connection to what I was writing. 
This experience was in Sally's class in the fall.  I wrote a piece that I was extremely hesitant to write and never thought it would come back up in the writing project, especially during the second day. I am not even sure what prompted me to write this piece and then end up sharing it with the group.  I'll be honest in saying that I feel that piece was never complete.  It got to the point where it became so personal and pulled at my heart strings so much that I could no longer add anymore to the writing.  It was about the precious baby girl that we lost at our school last year.  As a teacher, when an event such as a child's unexpected death occurs, we have to be the strong ones because we have 500 other precious babies to protect and support.  That was without question the most difficult thing I have experienced not only as a teacher but as a person.  I am slightly curious to go back to that piece and work more on it.  Even though I was so scared to write it, I feel it was a small part of the never ending healing process and helped me to deal with the tragedy.    
It is so mind blowing to me that the use of the common word "you" can have such an impact on us all.  Thanks to the writing project, I will probably never be able to introduce this sight word again without it bringing up memories, both good and bad.
6/5/2013 04:21:15 am

Isn't it funny how situations remind us of our kiddos? (as if they were our own.) I find that I personally connect with each one of them, although it may be at different levels. They make us laugh and they make us cry. We laugh and cry with them and often for them... working all the while to impact their lives in a way that maybe, just maybe, one day the laughter and tears will provide THEM the emotional connection that reminds THEM of the wonderful, fun-loving kindergarten (or 1st grade) teacher they once had. Thanks for sharing!!

Reply
Tricia
6/5/2013 12:01:03 pm

Thank you for sharing. I am always surprised at emotions I find in myself during the course of the Writing Project and it reminds me I need to find more time to write those thoughts during the school year. Maybe it would be a stress reliever as we are worrying about our babies?? Even though mine are bigger, they are still babies to means we want to spare them from any pain we can!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2013

    Categories

    All